The NAS Storage platform (nas02.storage.uq.edu.au) supports self-restore of files and folders by end users. Unfortunately, this feature only works on Microsoft Windows. Users of OS X can use a Windows based workstation to complete a restore (after which the restored files will be visible from their normal workstation), or contact ITS to perform a restore on their behalf.

The example on this page use files and folders stored on shared drives, but if your personal H: drive is hosted on nas02.storage.uq.edu.au, you can also perform self restores in that location.

Restore a Previous Version of a File or Folder

In this example, we'll be restoring a previous version of a simple text file called 'File1.txt', which contains the text 'Modified Text.' These instructions are also applicable when attempting to restore an entire folder to a previous version.

NAS Storage - Restore Previous Version of Modified File - Modified Text

To restore this file to the version saved the previous day, in Windows Explorer, right click the file.

NAS Storage - Restore Previous Version of Modified File - File Contextual Menu

Left click on 'Restore previous versions' to view all available previous version of the file or folder. In this case, the file was only created yesterday, so there is only one previous version available.

Restore Previous Version of Modified File - Available Previous Versions

There are three options available from this point. 

  • Open will open the file or folder in a read only view. This is useful when restoring folders if only a restoration of part of the deleted folder is required.
  • Copy... will prompt for a new location to restore the copied data to. This is generally the safest option for a restore.
  • Restore... will overwrite any existing copies of the file or folder with the data to be restored. Use this option only if you are sure you do not need the current version of the file/folder.

For this example, we'll do a copy of the file so it exists side by side with the current version. Pressing the Copy... button prompts us for a location to restore the file to.

Restore Previous Version of Modified File - Restore To

We've created a new folder to hold the restored file called 'Restored File,' and can now copy the data directly into this folder. Once the copy to the new location is complete (can take some time for large files/folders), navigating to the new Restored File directory in Windows Explorer should show the original file.

NAS Storage - Restore Previous Version of Modified File - Completed Restore

Note: To prevent being billed for additional storage, it is recommended to delete any versions of files that are no longer required.

Looked through our guides and still can't find the right answer?

Search all Help Guides  or  Submit new support job