The NAS Storage platform (nas02.storage.uq.edu.au) supports self-restore of files and folders by end users. Unfortunately, this feature only works on Microsoft Windows. Users of OS X can use a Windows based workstation to complete a restore (after which the restored files will be visible from their normal workstation), or contact ITS to perform a restore on their behalf.

The example on this page use files and folders stored on shared drives, but if your personal H: drive is hosted on nas02.storage.uq.edu.au, you can also perform self restores in that location.

Restore a Deleted File or Folder

In this example, we'll be restoring the deleted text file 'File1.txt.' These instructions are also applicable when restoring an entire folder on the shared drive.

In Windows Explorer, navigate to the parent of the file or folder to be restored, in this case 'Folder1,' and right click.

Restore Deleted File - Folder Contextual Menu

Left click the 'Restore Previous Versions' option to view available previous versions. Select the nearest available version to the last known time the required data was present on the system. In this case, the file was only just deleted, so we'll just be restoring from the most recent backup.

Restore Deleted File - Available Versions

There are three options available from this point. 

  • Open will open the file or folder in a read only view. This is useful when restoring folders if only a restoration of part of the deleted folder is required.
  • Copy... will prompt for a new location to restore the copied data to. This is generally the safest option for a restore.
  • Restore... will overwrite any existing copies of the file or folder with the data to be restored. Use this option only if you are sure you do not need the current version of the file/folder.

To confirm that the data is available in the selected backup, first we'll Open the previous version of the folder.

Restore Deleted File - Opened Folder

This opens a special read-only windows explorer window that shows the folder version as it was at the point the restore was made. The version you are looking at can be confirmed by looking at the address bar; in this case, we can see we are looking at the version of the folder from 'Today, June 2, 2015, 13 minutes ago)'.

Note: If only a partial restore of the folder is desirable, the viewable contents can be directly copy and pasted out of this window to anywhere on the shared drives or your local machine.

For this example, we want to restore the entire contents of the folder back to its original location. Return to the 'Restore Previous Versions' window:

Restore Deleted File - Available Versions

This time, select Restore..., and you will be prompted for confirmation before the restore takes place.

Restore Deleted File - Restore Confirmation

For large files and folders, it may take some time to restore the data. Once complete, you are notified with a prompt similar to this:

Restore Deleted File - Success Notification

Navigating to the folder in Windows Explorer shows the file safely back in its original home:

Restore Deleted File - Restore Complete

Looked through our guides and still can't find the right answer?

Search all Help Guides  or  Submit new support job